Single choice bipolar matrix table? | XM Community
Solved

Single choice bipolar matrix table?

• 28 May 2020
  • 1 reply

Hi everybody,
I am new to Qualtrics. I am glad to see that there is a huge community here. Thanks a lot for any advice you may have for me! For our first project, we need two fairly simple tables. However, I seem to be unable to create them in Qualtrics.

Table 1:
The idea is that a participant has to choose one out of two options, e.g., left-hand side or right-hand side, for a list of ten categories (product 1, product 2, ...). Here, the participant can only choose one out of the two and has to choose one for each category. So far, so simple and easy to create with Matrix table, Bipolar, 2 Scale points, 2 Labels, Force response. However, I also need a validation: Namely, the first time the left-hand side is chosen all the following answers have to be left-hand side as well. I tried using the count function, I am completely lost. Is such a validation possible?

______________Left-hand side______Right-hand side________________________
Product 1_______[_]_____________________[_]__________Alternative product 1
Product 2_______[_]_____________________[_]__________Alternative product 2
Product 3_______[_]_____________________[_]__________Alternative product 3

Examples:
Valid: Right-hand side, Right-hand side, Left-hand side.
Valid: Right-hand side, Left-hand side, Left-hand side.
Not valid: Right-hand side, Left-hand side, Right-hand side.
Not valid: Left-hand side, Right-hand side, Right-hand side.

---

Table 2: