Setting Embedded Data Valued from External Source (e.g. .csv file or any form of DB) | XM Community
Solved

Setting Embedded Data Valued from External Source (e.g. .csv file or any form of DB)

• 12 June 2020
  • 6 replies

Badge +1

Hi, I am new to Qualtrics and really can't get past this.
In my Survey, I ask participants to solve some problems, where the parameters of the problems change across questions. For convenience, let's call the set of parameters that define a specific question/problem criterium. Hence, a specific question is identified with its crtierium.
Assume that I have Database (.e.g. csv file) with two columns: a criterium and values of interest.
For each criterium there are multiple possible values.
The problem is the following: everytime a question corresponding to a given criterium is asked (I randomize them) I would like to draw all the possible corresponding values (the one that have that criterium) from the Database and then pick a random value among them. Once the value is picked it would be used within the block where that questions belongs.
As far as I understood, if I was able to put them into an array in JavaScript, then randomizing among the values would be easy.
Then I guess the problem boils down to: is it possible to import values from an external data source, draw them according to some criterium and then put them as embedded data to be used within questions?

Sorry for the long questions, I really appreciate your help!

Andrea

icon

Best answer by TomG 12 June 2020, 15:55

View original

6 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +27

You can use a web service to pull in values from an external source and populate embedded data variables. See: https://www.qualtrics.com/support/survey-platform/survey-module/survey-flow/advanced-elements/web-service/

Badge +1

Thank you very much for your answer TomG!
However, I have 2 issues relating to it: