Problem with adapting timer code | XM Community
Question

Problem with adapting timer code

Hello,
I am new to all programming and am having an issue with getting a value embedded in Qualtrics to display properly. I currently have a timer (based on code that gets copied and discussed here a lot) that, as far as I can tell, works properly but has a quirk of requiring the overall time to be stated twice. When the header is set-up to hold the timer, the total time has to be declared in the innerHTML of the element, and then later on in the code the actual timer is set-up and will update the innerHTML with the new timer value as it increments down. This means that the moment that text starts getting displayed, the header will read whatever you initially wrote when setting up the innerHTML, and then one second later once the timer’s interval is completed one time, that value gets overwritten with a value stored elsewhere (specifically the copied code stores it as a variable called timerSeconds). Since there is a 1 second delay before the timer starts, if I wanted a 60 second time limit, I would initially set the innerHTML for 60 seconds (written as 01:00 to match formatting) and have to set timerSeconds equal to 59.  When the page loads, 01:00 would be displayed for one second before the interval completes once and it gets replaced with 00:59 by using code to change the timerSeconds value into a readable format (00 minutes : 00 seconds).