Custom Code for Matrix question custom validation for set number of items for each individual column | XM Community
Solved

Custom Code for Matrix question custom validation for set number of items for each individual column

Can anyone help me write a custom code for the following matrix question (I am a complete novice at write Java codes)?
There are 186 items in the rows, and three choices. I would like respondents to only pick 10 items for each of the 3 different columns. Everytime they choose more or less than 10, I want an error message to pop up that directs them to the exact column that needs their attention (and ambitiously lets them know if they need to pick more items or less to get to the 10).
Currently the custom validation (image attached) that I can set up only allows for one generic error message for all three columns together - which means the participants will have to manually go back and count each of the three columns to detect which one has more or less than 10 items selected.
Screen Shot 2020-06-24 at 12.54.39 PM.pngScreen Shot 2020-06-24 at 12.57.07 PM.png

icon

Best answer by rondev 25 June 2020, 22:57

View original

10 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +4

You cannot highlight individual column and display error for the respected column, instead you can combine the error message which will consider the text for all the columns or you will have to write the JS function to validate and display the error message for the respected column.

That's exactly what I am looking to do - write the JS function, but I do not know how to go about it since I do not know how to write one :(

Userlevel 7
Badge +22

In order to show the selection count of each column, you can follow below solution:
Paste the below HTML in the question HTML view at the end:

Column 1 selected count:0

Column 2 selected count:0

Column 3 selected count:0

Now, paste the below code in the Javascript of the matrix question:
var QID = this.questionId ;