ISO advice for odd "survey" project -- a case for the Authenticator? | XM Community
Solved

ISO advice for odd "survey" project -- a case for the Authenticator?

I have a series of questions related to a Qualtrics project, “Update.”  I suspect this is an unusual application of Qualtrics, e.g., not what it was designed to do.
I am new to Qualtrics and am still figuring out the possibilities and the vocabulary. (I have some background in survey research, very basic programming in SAS, SPSS.) Thank you in advance for any advice, direction, caution you can offer. If this is an inappropriate use of this forum, let me know that too.
The project:  A team of 3-5 remote researchers will use a Qualtrics survey/data collection instrument to enter and update information (100+ variables) on 800-1000+ individual/unique cases.  This information will be entered and updated over a period of months and years as information changes and new information becomes available.  The person who initially enters the information on a case will likely NOT be the same person (or sitting at the same computer) as the person who updates the case in a few weeks or months.  (Later, at periodic intervals, we will run basic descriptive analyses on all or a subset of the cases.)
I’m seeking advice on how best to accomplish the data collection effort as well as cautions.
1.  How should I set up the survey so that researchers can enter NEW cases and update EXISTING ones?  (How might I avoid duplicate and near-duplicate cases?)
I have an Excel spreadsheet which contains the names of the cases (in both Last Name, First Name as separate variables and as one/combined variable), state, and year of the case.  How might I make good use of this? (No case is associated with a unique email address but presumably could be associated with a unique survey link.)