Is there a template question to ask respondents their time zone? | XM Community
Question

Is there a template question to ask respondents their time zone?

• 27 July 2020
  • 6 replies

Badge +2

Hi,
I am trying to ask respondents a question: "What time zone will you be based in, at least for the fall semester (September-December)?"
I have searched Qualtrics question template library, Google, and community and am finding nothing that will make this question easy for respondents to answer, and for myself to analyze the data. Here is what I want in an ideal world:
-a complete list of time zones from which respondents can select theirs (bonus if it contains an example city)
-if no such template exists, is there javascript that will pre-fill their time zone in a multiple choice or text-response answer based on embedded data?
I'm sorry if this is a total newbie question, but it seems silly for me to create a list of timezones when it has surely been done before (and when time zones are actually pretty confusing and I'll probably do it wrong). Also, tagging COVID-19 since having to ask for people's time zones is probably more common now than 6 months ago!
Thank you!
Ellen

6 replies

I came here looking for the same thing!

Userlevel 5
Badge +15

Hi EllenW we've grappled with this same issue, since the list of time zones is actually huge. One alternative to consider is to ask about their time in reference to your location. For example, When it is 8:00 am in [location], what time is it where you are? Then you can provide a list of just 24 options to represent each hour.

Badge +2

Thank you Clair! That is a great idea.
Ellen

Badge +1