Set hidden question value with JavaScript | XM Community
Solved

Set hidden question value with JavaScript

• 4 August 2020
  • 6 replies

Hello everyone,
this is my first post here and I am writing because I am stuck with code I can't figure out how to do.
I am also new to Qualtrics coming from ConfirmIt background and maybe that's the essence of my problem.
To give you a little bit more background let me explain what I am trying to achieve.
We survey a number of respondents for part of who we have some background, preloaded data. The problem is that we only have this for some of them so we need to ask questions about e.g. gender to those for who we don't. Therefore I have two questions:
pl_gender - it stores the preloaded data
gender - it is being asked if pl_gender is null
For analysis purposes I use "gender" question only so I need it to be populated if pl_gender is not null but I can't set the "gender" field in Qualtrics DB by any means.
For those of you who have some experience in ConfirmIt I am basically trying to replicate this code:
//check if there is preloaded gender data
if (f('pl_gender').toBoolean())
{
//set gender answer to whatever was uploaded to pl_gender question
f('gender').set(f('pl_gender'))
}

I know that the workaround for that would be to generate a third question e.g. "GenderCombined" as embedded and use SetEmbeddedData but that is my last resort solution as the number of times I need to do it is purely horrendous. On top of that there is an ETL process to our database and the amount of work it would require to change is very discouraging.
Thanks all for your help!
Greg

icon

Best answer by SurajK 5 August 2020, 17:09

View original

6 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +4

Hi Greg ,
Use the below code at gender question, it will store the pl_gender data in gender question itself if it is not blank. Do not add any base logic for gender question. The below code will automatically take care if it is not null and not in preview mode.