Highlight question with the text from previous piped text | XM Community
Solved

Highlight question with the text from previous piped text

• 1 March 2021
  • 7 replies

Hello!
I am trying to create a highlight question with the text coming from the displayed choice of a previous question. I have learned a lot from the community and figured out the basic logic is to first make a placeholder in the highlight text and then replace it with the piped text. But I have no previous experience with javascript and just tried to make some code that could be totally wrong (not working).
I was wondering if there is anyone who could help me with it. Thanks a lot!

Qualtrics.SurveyEngine.addOnload(function()
{
var text1 = "${q://QID2/ChoiceGroup/DisplayedChoices}";
var elems = document.getElementsByClassName('HLTextWord');
jQuery("#"+this.questionId+" span.HLTextWord").replace( elems,text1);
/*Place your JavaScript here to run when the page loads*/
});

icon

Best answer by ChiragK 2 March 2021, 06:32

View original

7 replies

Badge +8

Hi Wen
Here's the link which is similar to what you need, there's no need to use javascript.
https://www.qualtrics.com/community/discussion/1811/editing-piped-text

https://www.qualtrics.com/community/discussion/comment/35072#Comment_35072Hi ChiragK !
Thanks for the reply. However, this is not what I am looking for. I should describe my questions clearer.

I am creating a survey for text annotation and I have thousands of comments that need to be annotated. At the beginning of the survey, I create an MC question with thousands of choices (each comment as a choice) and randomly select one and hide the question. And the following questions are related to the selected comment (I used piped text to display where it is needed). My problem is the highlight question. I would like the participant to highlight some words in the selected comment, so I need to create a highlight question with the selected comment.

Badge +8