Piped text from a drag and drop response | XM Community
Solved

Piped text from a drag and drop response

• 1 March 2021
  • 4 replies

I would like to insert some piped text into a question. The piped text will be the statement that the responder has dragged and dropped into a particular box in previous drag and drop question - I just can't seem to work out how to construct the piped text to reflect this. Any help would be great! I am a complete JavaScript novice!

icon

Best answer by lizb311 11 May 2021, 16:35

View original

4 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +19

So this will depend a bit on how your drag & drop question is set up, and what exactly you want out of your piped text. With a drag & drop question, you can pipe text based on selected choices, or an item's rank within the group... Does your piped text need to reference items dropped into a specific group, or any group, or...?

In any case, I think the easiest way to do piped text is to let Qualtrics do it for you. If you are piping text into a question, then click on "piped text" when you are editing your question. If you are piping text into an answer choice, then click on the small blue arrow next to the answer choice. Then click on "Insert piped text." Choose to pipe text from a "Survey Question" and then select the question that you're interested in. Here's a screenshot of what that process looks like and what the built-in options are for a drag & drop question.
image.png
Here are some examples of what you'll get.
Item 1 Description: this basically just carries forward the choice text for a given item, and will display regardless of if that item is sorted or not. Your piped text will look like:

${q://QID1/ChoiceDescription/1}

Selected Choices: this will give you ALL items from your drag & drop that were selected, no matter which group(s) they were sorted into. Your piped text will look like:
${q://QID1/ChoiceGroup/SelectedChoices}