How to get an even participant distribution with 2x2 between subject design? | XM Community
Question

How to get an even participant distribution with 2x2 between subject design?

• 6 April 2021
  • 1 reply

As this is my first time using Qualtrics, I have run into a problem I hope someone can help me with. For my research, I will be using a 2x2 between subject design. At the beginning of my survey partcipants will be evenly divided between condition A and B. They will first participate in different questions, but then continue with another block of the same questions. After that, all participants will be evenly divided again between condition 1 and 2, where half of the participants will read a certain paragraph, and the others will not see this paragraph at all. Therefore, I will have 4 conditions: A.1, A.2, B.1, and B.2.
I know I can use the randomizer tool to evenly divide between A and B at the beginning, but I am wondering that if use the randomizer tool again later on in the survey for 1 and 2, will I get even distribution between all 4 conditions? If I understand correctly, the whole group will get evenly divided again, and the previous division will not be taken into account.
The only solution I have come up with so far is making 4 seperate blocks, and then randomizing those 4 evenly. I am however a little concerned that this will somehow mess up my output from the survey. It might be better to create 2 blocks for A and B, and then randomize evenly, and later in the survey randomize 1 block which half of the participants will see, and the others will not. I do however not know how to do that while avoiding uneven distribution of the participants.

I hope someone can understand my questions and help me out, it would be a great help!

1 reply

Userlevel 7
Badge +19