Piped text - modifying | XM Community
Solved

Piped text - modifying

• 13 September 2018
  • 6 replies

I’m fairly new to Qualtric and seeking some advice.
I have a side-by-side question with 3 statements (home, friends, pub) with 1 col with 6 responses (never to everyday).
I want to ‘pipe’ the response (never to everyday) to the statement into the next question.

Eg, In the side-by-side question (Q1), if a person selects ‘everyday’ (response) for the first statement, which is ‘at home’, the next question is:
(Q2) Thinking about a usual drinking occasion when you are drinking {‘everyday’} at home, how much would you usually drink?
My problem is I can’t seem to work out how to pipe in the column ‘response’ into Q2.

When I go to Q2, I click on ‘Piped Text…’, then ‘Survey Question’, then my Q1, and all the options are based on the statements, and I can’t figure out how to pipe the response. Do I need to build my own code for something like this?

For example, if I selected ‘every day – selected choices’ from the list available under Q1 (via piped text… menu), all the statements are piped in.

Thinking about a usual drinking occasion when you are drinking ('Home, Friends, Pub') at home, how much alcohol would you usually drink?
And I want the piped in text to be ‘everyday’.

Sorry for the long question, and thanks in advance for any tips. And I can copy the questions from Qualtric if that helps
icon

Best answer by LaT 17 September 2018, 06:24

View original

6 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +27
hi @JanetteM

!
As you can see to get the response of the marked section piped you need to select the highlighted option (Blue)
Hope this helps 🙂
Userlevel 1
Badge +1
Hi 👋🏻 Janette,

We have to first store these texts to embedded variables by writing if conditions in javascript. Later use these variables for piping purpose.
Hi Priyanka,
Thanks for the response. I like the sound of what you suggests, but not sure how to implement it.