Storing responses of open entry questions as embedded data | XM Community
Solved

Storing responses of open entry questions as embedded data

• 11 December 2018
  • 4 replies

Hi everyone!
I'm fairly new to Qualtrics and JS. In my survey I ask respondents for their zip code and would like (a) turn responses to upper case and (b) to store their responses as embedded data. While I managed to do turn all responses to upper case, I did not manage to save the response as embedded data. I tried the following:

`Qualtrics.SurveyEngine.addOnload(function() {
var input = $("QR~" + this.questionId);
var text = PATH;
input.value = text.toUpperCase();
input.on('change', () => input.value = input.value.toUpperCase());
var newvar = input;
Qualtrics.SurveyEngine.setEmbeddedData('zipCode', newvar);
});`

Note: PATH stands for the precise location of ChoiceTextEntryValue.

With this code, I successfully turn responses to upper case, but the embedded data just says "array". If I use `var newvar = input.value` instead, the embedded data field is not filled. Any hints or recommendations are very welcome! Thanks a lot for your support in advance!
icon

Best answer by Anonymous 11 December 2018, 18:40

View original

4 replies

Hello @sanm ,

Please follow the below Steps:

Step1: Create an embedded data(zipCode) in survey flow before the zipcode question

Step2: Paste the below code in the js(onReady) of the text entry zipcode question

jQuery("#"+this.questionId+" .InputText").on('keyup',function(){
Qualtrics.SurveyEngine.setEmbeddedData( 'zipCode', jQuery(this).val().toUpperCase());
});
Thanks a lot, @Shashi ! This was perfect! One last question: Ideally, I would like to remove any numerics from the zipcode response (e.g. "SW9" --> "SW", perhaps with `zipCode.replaceAll("[^A-Z]", "");`), group responses into regions (e.g. by using an if-else command). For instance:
`if(response === "SW"){
var region = 1;
} else {
var region = 0;
}`.