Linking respondent answers to underlying data | XM Community
Solved

Linking respondent answers to underlying data

• 13 February 2019
  • 11 replies

Hello!

I'm new to Qualtrics and working on a survey that collects respondent information and then displays data based on this content back to the respondent. For example, I'll first ask respondents for their state and county information (which they'll enter from a drop down list), and then match their inputs to an underlying dataset that can display data that is specific to their state and county (i.e. by telling them what their county spends on education).

I know that I need a contact list with the state, county, and spending data, but I'm having trouble getting Qualtrics to match responses to a dropdown menu for state & county to the spending data from the contact list. I tried setting the embedded data from the contact list equal to the question responses for state and county, but it doesn't seem to be linking these responses together. Is there a specific order for the embedded data & survey logic, or is there something specific that I need to do in preview mode to make this work?

Thank you so much!!
icon

Best answer by TomG 15 February 2019, 14:12

View original

11 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +33
if you have this information stored in contact list than it should display in question. For example your contact list contain 3 columns say State, country and spend value.
Send an email invite to yourself with using dummy contact list and take run. or in preview link append these after link like previewlink&state=xxx&country=xxx&spendvalue=xxxx
@bansalpeeyush29 Thank you for your help! I tried taking the survey myself using an email invite, but the state & county information is still not linked to the contact list (and therefore no information is displayed in the survey when I try to pipe data from the contact list). This is how I embedded the data in survey flow:

!