Passing Information into Survey URL via Responsys or similar | XM Community
Question

Passing Information into Survey URL via Responsys or similar

• 17 June 2019
  • 5 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +6
Hello, I'm still fairly new to using Qualtrics and could not find my specific question/answer in the support documents - so hoping the community can help. Basically what I'm trying to do is embed a survey single URL in an e-mail already going to customers, and I want to make sure I collect some metadata that is associated with the e-mail already. I understand that I can create multiple URL's and preset the data to embed, but since the e-mail goes out to so many - I'd rather have a dynamic embedding process.

Example:
* Field = Member; Value = (Yes, No, Maybe)
* Field = Proximity; Value = ( variable distances)

URL Example: survey.mysite.com?Member=_<value pulled in from e-mail file>_&Proximity=_<value pulled in from e-mail file>_

Is this possible and if so, can someone share the right syntax to pull in the current value for each survey respondent in our file?

Hopefully this makes sense, but if not, let me know and I'll try to clarify.

Allen

5 replies

Hello aurness ,

Check this resources for passing the data through URL.

To make it dynamic you can piped text the contact list embedded data in the url value.
Userlevel 7
Badge +11
You can certainly do this through the URL as Shashi mentioned, but it'll be significant work if they differ at all from respondent to respondent, as you'll have to append each URL manually at that point.

What I'd suggest instead is to store this information in your contact list and then pull it in from your panel (which you do just by declaring the embedded data variable at the beginning of the survey flow).

If you're sending from a different mail service than Qualtrics, check out how to create personal links here.

You'll also want to check out using embedded data with a contact list here.
Userlevel 2
Badge +6