Carry Forward Help | XM Community
Solved

Carry Forward Help

• 14 August 2019
  • 6 replies

Hello,

I'm very new to Qualtrics. I'm designing a personality inventory and need help generating a "carry forward command".

In question one I ask the user to pick one of 3 choices.
In question two I ask the user to pick one of 3 choices (different choices than Q1)
in question three I ask the user to pick one of 3 choices (different than both Q1 and Q2)

I need Q4 to carry forward each chosen response from questions 1, 2 and 3 so they can pick one of those 3 answers they previously chose, so that then that answer can ultimately be used in the final scoring of their test.

I am not at all familiar with Java but I have done some reading and understand that it may take a particular Java code to help the test flow the way I need it to. I will be using this particular pattern of scoring throughout the inventory and I would be vert grateful if anyone had any guidance.

p.s. I would need very clear instructions on how and where to enter any code (I know at least how to open the Java window), but other than copying and pasting it in I'm a bit at a loss.

Thanks!
icon

Best answer by TomG 14 August 2019, 18:29

View original

6 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +27
In Q4, you can pipe the selected choices from Q1-Q3 in as the choices. So the choices will look something like:
${q://QID1/ChoiceGroup/SelectedChoices}
${q://QID2/ChoiceGroup/SelectedChoices}
${q://QID3/ChoiceGroup/SelectedChoices}

They won't necessarily be QID1, QID2, and QID3, so use the "Insert Piped Text" menu option on each choice in Q4 to make sure you get the correct piped string.
Thanks that seemed to work. I had to add a page break after question 3 before the piped question 4 before it would show up in the preview though
Userlevel 7
Badge +27
> @Sturgeon48 said:
> Thanks that seemed to work. I had to add a page break after question 3 before the piped question 4 before it would show up in the preview though