How to display score on survey page that dynamically updates? | XM Community
Solved

How to display score on survey page that dynamically updates?

Userlevel 1
Hi. I am new to Qualtrics and could not find a solution (or wasn't able to fully implement/build on current solutions) to my problems.

I am designing a survey, wherein every question is scored, and a final score is calculated on the basis of these individual scores using a mathematical formula (for now, consider a simple summation of all scores, which is then multiplied by 3). So I wanted help on two fronts:

1. Firstly, it seems I need to create an embedded data field to calculate the final score, but the formula I've typed isn't working. Need to figure out what's wrong in my current formula or if an easier one is possible
!

2. Secondly, I want to display this final score on the top of the page. When we change our response to a question (by selecting another option), this score should be immediately be updated without me going to a different page. I know it seems strange for a respondent to immediately know how his/her response changes the final score, but this is by deliberate design in this case. I tried using solutions to these questions, but wasn't able to make them work:

https://www.qualtrics.com/community/discussion/comment/41#Comment_41
https://www.qualtrics.com/community/discussion/3092/creating-a-variable-to-add-all-the-scores-of-the-survey-respondents

I am new to both JS and HTML as well and am learning it as I go along making this survey.

Would be really grateful if someone could help me out on this!
Thanks!
icon

Best answer by TomG 30 August 2019, 16:41

View original

12 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +6
You basically need to have each question in a separate block, separated by your embedded block that does the math calculation for you. This will mean that the embedded data "Final Score" is being updated after each question.