How to make discrete choice experiment using the Qualtrics? | XM Community
Solved

How to make discrete choice experiment using the Qualtrics?

• 5 May 2018
  • 5 replies

Hi,

I am a student at Aarhus University, and in order to proceed with my master thesis, I have to make the discrete choice experiment. After some research, I was not able to understand how to do it. Could you please advice the procedure?

Best,
Ilona
icon

Best answer by Rich_Boits_Walker 6 May 2018, 04:53

View original

5 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +7
I believe you will be looking for info on choice-based conjoint analysis. The setup is more complex, but there is very detailed information in the support pages.

Support page link:
https://qualtrics.com/support/survey-platform/survey-module/editing-questions/conjoint-analysis/

There is also a survey template (.qsf file) that can be downloaded to give you a working example. It is the Feature Prioritization template located here: https://qualtrics.com/research-best-practices/survey-templates/
Thank you for your answer. However, it is not exactly what I need. Here is a picture how questions should look. Note, it is just example I have different attributes and levels.

The main idea, that respondents will have the possibility to chose between alternatives, but not rate every attribute.

!
Hi Ilona,
Were you able to do a discrete choice experiment on Qualtrics? I'm also interested in doing so. Thanks.
Userlevel 4
Badge +5
> @Ilona said:
> Thank you for your answer. However, it is not exactly what I need. Here is a picture how questions should look. Note, it is just example I have different attributes and levels.
>
> The main idea, that respondents will have the possibility to chose between alternatives, but not rate every attribute.
>
> !
>

So I'm thinking it makes sense to present the options in each row, one row at a time. Using custom validation, you can force them to choose one choice per row.