Loading...
  • Customer Experience
    Customer Experience
  • Employee Experience
    Employee Experience
  • Brand Experience
    Brand Experience
  • Product Experience
    Product Experience
  • Core XM
    Core XM
  • Design XM
    Design XM

Activating, Publishing, & Managing Intercepts

What's on This Page:


Was this helpful?


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The feedback you submit here is used only to help improve this page.

That’s great! Thank you for your feedback!

Thank you for your feedback!


About Activating, Publishing, & Managing Intercepts

At the top of every section when you edit an intercept are two buttons: Publish and Manage.

Publish and Manage buttons at the top right of the intercept

Any changes to your intercepts won’t go live until you are ready. There are two key components that make this possible: publishing and activating. When you publish a creative or intercept, the latest changes you have made can go live on your website. When you activate an intercept, this turns the intercept on so it is live on your website.

You will separately publish creatives and intercepts after every set of changes you make, however, you will only activate intercepts once.

Publish Intercept

Qtip: If you have the published version of the project deployment code on your website, both the creative you are implementing and the intercept that runs it will need to be published before visitors will see your changes.
  1. Click Publish on the top-right of the Intercepts tab.
    Publish button at the top right of the intercept

    Qtip: If your organization has implemented an approval system, you may instead see a button that says Request Approval to Publish. For more information about setting up an approval system for projects, check out our Website / App Feedback Administration support page.
  2. Write a Description for your changes, or leave the field blank. Writing a description for changes that you will publish
  3. Click Publish.

Activate Intercept

Publishing a creative and intercept simply means your latest changes can go live on your website. You must Activate an intercept before the code will work at all. From there, you can turn off the code at any time by Deactivating the intercept.

To activate an intercept, simply click Activate on the top-right of the Edit section. This button is only available once the intercept has been published for the first time.

Activate button indicated at the top right of the intercept

To deactivate an active intercept, simply click Deactivate on the top-right of the Edit section. This button is only available once the intercept has already been activated.

Deactivate button indicated in the top right of the intercept

Qtip: Want your intercept to stop running, but don’t have the time or resources to remove the code from your site? Deactivating the intercept shuts it off so that you don’t have to worry about this.

Manage Intercept

On the top-right of the intercept editor you will find the Manage dropdown menu.
Manage clicked and dropped down to reveal Revisions, Save, Rename, Create Duplicate, and Event Tracking options

Revisions

View the Revision History of your intercept. Here, you can tell when a revision was made and what user made it.

Revision history menu with unpublished edits highlighted, so a Save a new revision option appears to the right

Click on the version you’re currently editing for the option to Save a new revision.

Revision History window with a published revision highlighted

Click on an older version to Revert to this revision. This will replace the version you’re editing with this older revision.

You can always go back in your Revision History to restore any previously saved revision, including ones created after the revision you are restoring.

Save

Manually save any changes you’ve made to your intercept. Note that changes are saved automatically every few seconds, so this option is not typically necessary.

Rename

Give your intercept a new name.

Renaming an intercept

Create Duplicate

Create a copy of your intercept within the same project.

Creating a duplicate or copy of the intercept

Event Tracking

With event tracking, you can keep track of actions your visitors take on your website, such as downloading a monthly statement on a banking website, clicking to chat with a live agent on a commerce site, and more. To learn more about setting up Event Tracking, go to the linked support page.

Survey Quotas

If you are building Qualtrics surveys with the Survey Platform software, you can set what are known as quotas. Quotas allow you to limit how many people come into your survey, often based on a response they’ve given (e.g., limit your survey to only 50 male and 50 female respondents).

When building your quota, you can decide what happens when that quota is met. Are new respondents sent to a different survey? Are they sent out of the survey entirely? One of your options is to activate or deactivate an intercept (not a whole project).

A quota. On the right under When the quota has ben met, then... Website / App Feedback is selected and the user is choosing between Activate and Deactivate intercept in the next dropdown menu

Example: You only want 100 responses on your feedback survey. You display this feedback survey in an intercept on your site. With the Website / App Feedback quota action, you can ensure that once 100 responses are collected, the feedback survey will stop appearing in an Intercept on your site.

FAQs