How do you restrict the number of times an audio clip is played?

asimm123asimm123 Community Member Qubie ✭

How do you restrict the number of times an audio clip is played?

Hi everyone! I'm trying to restrict the number of times (up to 6 times) people can listen to an audio clip within my survey. Additionally, I would like to track the number of times that same audio clip is played (i.e. 1-6 times). I've been browsing the online community for help, but can't seem to get the code to work properly in my survey. This is my first time using Qualtrics, so if anyone could provide any guidance at all, it would be very much appreciated!

Best Answer

• AHammellAHammell MinneapolisCommunity Member Qubie ✭
    Accepted Answer

@asimm123 You have some extra stuff in your HTML that you don't need need. The HTML View for your question should only contain the following:

Remember to listen carefully and make sure that your computer volume is on, as you will only be able to listen to the clip once.&nbsp;<br>

<center><button id="audiobutton" type="button" onclick="">Play Audio</button>

<br>

<audio id="audiofile1" src="https://umich.qualtrics.com/CP/File.php?F=F_0uYH2HYrjamicNn"></audio></center>

In terms of the JavaScript, you'll want to be sure to add all of the JavaScript code that I included above.

(P.S. To embed code, use 3 " ` " symbols in a row and press "enter" :) )

Answers

I may have something cooked up, but a couple of questions first:

• Do you need folks to be able to pause the audio?
    • Do you need folks to be able to control any other parts of the audio file in any way (e.g. scrubbing and/or volume control)?
  • asimm123asimm123 Community Member Qubie ✭

@AHammell Hi! Thanks for your response! Ideally, participants will be able to click the "play" button on the audio clip; however, they won't be able to press that button again once it's played once. Pausing/other control features wouldn't be necessary :)

edited December 2020
    edited December 2020