Recode ''open text answer'' | XM Community
Solved

Recode ''open text answer''

• 15 January 2020
  • 7 replies

Hi Qualtrics community,

Hopefully somebody can help me with the following (im pretty new to Qualtrics):
For my survey I need to compare the results of the respondents age 17-22 against respondents of 23-24 year old. Unfortunately, one of my first questions in the survey is: '' what is your age'' with a open text entry possibility for answering the question. I have the idea that because I didn't have chosen for the multiple answer option for this question, I'm not able to insert a correct report breakout. Using the '' filter '' option and inserting that '' what is age' should contain 24 for example, is also not working properly.

I want to avoid having to import my data into SPSS, only because of this single mistake.

Please, anybody who can explain to me how to fix this? I'll be forever grateful.

Thanks in advance,
S Ghazi
icon

Best answer by MattBroffman_Orlando 16 January 2020, 17:13

View original

7 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +4
Two ways to go about this
In the Data & Analysis
- Click "Tools" in the top right
- Select "Create New Field"
- Click "Bucketing" in the top right
Here you can map your source field (your current age question) to different buckets.
Now you will have a new field in your data as a set.

In the Dashboard:
Go to configure the dashboard data, you will:
- Add an "Open Text" field
- Map that field to your age question
- Change the field type from "Open Text" to "Text Set"
- Click the gear button (the single one on the data source column, not the double gears) for that field in the survey data
- Click "More options" on the recode editor
- Click "Manage Labels"
- Enter your values Sounds like "12 - 22" and "23-24"
- Now go back to the recode editor and add each age under the proper recode. Eg:
Source: 12 Recode: 12 - 22
Source: 13 Recode: 12 - 22
Source: 14 Recode: 12 - 22
Now you will have a text set in the dashboard.