Loading...
  • Customer Experience
    Customer Experience
  • Employee Experience
    Employee Experience
  • Brand Experience
    Brand Experience
  • Product Experience
    Product Experience
  • Core XM
    Core XM

Participants Tools (360)

What's on This Page:


Was this helpful?


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The feedback you submit here is used only to help improve this page.

That’s great! Thank you for your feedback!

Thank you for your feedback!


About Participant Tools

In every 360 project, you have access to tools that you can use to manage the participants uploaded into your project. To get to these tools, navigate to the Participants section of the Participants tab, then select Tools.

Tools dropdown menu options in the Participants tab

Manage Metadata

You can manage the all the metadata for your 360 project using the Manage Metadata tool. Editing metadata here won’t affect metadata in the directory, but it will affect metadata for the whole 360 project.

  1. Navigate to the Participants section in the Participants tab.
    Manage Metadata option in the Tools dropdown menu
  2. Click Tools on the top-right.
  3. Select Manage Metadata.
  4. Click on a metadata field so it is highlighted in blue.
    Managing metadata in the metadata pop up window
  5. For the selected metadata field, note the possible Values listed to the right. Only the first 500 are displayed.
  6. Hover your mouse over a field to get the gear button. Click this.
  7. Click Rename to change the name of the selected metadata.
  8. Click Delete to permanently delete the selected metadata from your brand.
  9. Click Close when you’re done making changes.

Qtip: Want to delete multiple metadata fields at a time? Check the box next to each field you wish to delete. Then click the trash icon next to the Field Name column header.

Selecting the trash icon next to a metadata field

Manage Relationships

Manage Relationships allows you to manage all the custom relationships in your 360 project.

Adding and Removing Relationships

  1. Click Tools on the top-right.
    Manage Relationships option in the Tools dropdown menu
  2. Select Manage Relationships.
  3. Type in the field to rename the relationship.
    Managing relationships in the Manage relationships pop up window
  4. Click the plus (+) sign next to any relationship to add a new custom relationship.
  5. Click the minus () sign to remove a relationship.
    Qtip: You can only remove relationships with 0 people in them. That way you do not damage any data you’ve collected by removing a relationship.
  6. When finished with your edits, click Close.

Translating Relationships

  1. Click Tools on the top-right.
    Manage Relationships option in the Tools dropdown menu
  2. Select Manage Relationships.
  3. Switch Show Translations to On.
    Switching the Show Translation option to on in the Manage Relationships pop up window
  4. Click the plus (+) sign to add a language to translate your custom relationship into.
  5. In the fields, enter the translated names of the relationships.
  6. Click the percentage to automatically translate the relationships. This translation is from Google Translate.
  7. When you’re finished, click Close.

Translation Options

If you click on the header of any of your translation columns, you will have several options for managing your translations.
Relationship translation options

  1. Hide Translation: Hide the translation. This can be helpful if you have many translations and need to create more room on the page.
  2. Remove Translation: Delete the translation altogether.
  3. Select which language displays in the column.
  4. Add another language: Add another language to your list of custom relationship translations.

Download Participant List to CSV

Download Participant List To CSV will download your current participant list to a CSV file, complete with metadata columns. This file includes subjects and evaluators, but it does not split relationships onto separate rows. For this reason, it is not good to reuse as a template file for uploading participants.

Example participant list downloaded to CSV

  • Status: Whether the participant has completed their response, or if you are still waiting for them to respond.
  • Nominations Sent: The number of evaluators assigned to the subject, excluding the self.
  • Evaluations Received: The numbers of evaluations completed of this subject, including the self-evaluation. This should be 0 for external evaluators because they are not subjects.
  • Nominations Received: How many people (excluding the self) the participant has been asked to evaluate.
  • Completed Evaluations: How many evaluations (excluding the self) the participant has completed.
  • Self-Evaluation Complete: This is a 1 for “yes” and a 0 for “no.” It should always be 0 for external evaluators because they are not subjects.

Download All Reports

When selected, Download All Reports will download a PDF of every subject’s report.

Use the Search bar or select specific participants if you only want to download a few PDFs at a time.

This option does not display on the Evaluators subsection because evaluators don’t have reports. This option also doesn’t display on the Managers subsection because not all managers are subjects, although they can be.

Download reports not available for Evaluators or Managers in the Tools menu

Reset All Participants

Reset All Participants will let you erase all the participants from your project so you can start all over. Once you decide to reset all your participants, Qualtrics will ask you one last time if you’re sure. If you’re sure, type reset into the field and click the red Reset button to confirm.

Reset All Participants pop up window

Warning: Once participants are reset, they are not retrievable! Only select this option if you are absolutely sure!

If you uploaded the correct participants, but not the correct metadata, then you can use a CSV/TSV import to update your participants’ metadata.

If you’re looking to delete lots of, but not all of your participants, you should check out the other options for managing participants in the Participants section.

Reset All Nominations

Reset All Nominations will let you remove all the evaluation relationships from the project. This does not just count for nominations that subjects set for themselves, but all evaluators set for the subject.

Warning: Once nominations are reset, they are not retrievable! Only select this option if you are absolutely sure!

Manage Previous Imports/Updates

If you have recently imported your participants or chosen to Update All Responses With Current Metadata, the Manage Previous Imports/Updates tool will allow you to look back on a history of your imports. This history shows the same content for all subsections.

A column is provided for the Status, the Type of import, the Progress of the import, Date imported, and the opportunity to Delete the import from your history.

Manage Previous Imports/Updates pop up window

If you click View Results underneath the Status column, you will receive a report of what this upload accomplished. If there were any errors that prevented the upload, they will be mentioned here.

Results pop up window in the Manage Previous Imports/Updates window

In the above image, there were no errors, but all the users updated already existed in the directory, so no new users were added. In addition, any new metadata that might have been included with these users was added to their metadata in the directory so it could be used for later surveys.

Warning: Once a project is active, changes made to a participant’s metadata in the Participants tab will not reflect in the Employee Directory. Similarly, once a project is active, changes made to a participant’s metadata in the Employee Directory will not reflect in the Participants tab.

FAQs