Loading...
  • Customer Experience
    Customer Experience
  • Employee Experience
    Employee Experience
  • Brand Experience
    Brand Experience
  • Product Experience
    Product Experience
  • Core XM
    Core XM
  • Design XM
    Design XM

Automatic Deduplication

What's on This Page:


Was this helpful?


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The feedback you submit here is used only to help improve this page.

That’s great! Thank you for your feedback!

Thank you for your feedback!


About Automatic Deduplication

XM Directory allows you to set up deduplication rules for your directory so that newly added contacts are automatically compared against existing contacts to see if there are any duplicates. If the contact already exists, a new contact will not be created with the same information as another. Instead, the existing directory contact will be updated with any new information you have added, such as new or updated embedded data values.

Qtip: Access to the Directory Settings tab requires the Manage Directory permission. Talk to your Brand Administrator if you’re interested in getting access to this setting.

Setting Up Automatic Deduplication

Qtip: Selecting multiple fields for deduplication does not mean XM Directory looks at one or the other; it means all fields must match before duplicate contacts are combined. For example, if you want to duplicate by first and last name, Jane Smith and Jane Doe won’t be combined, but multiple contacts named Jane Doe will.
the options in directory settings for setting up automatic deduplication, found under the consolidate your contacts tab
  1. Navigate to Directory Settings.
  2. Select Consolidate your contacts.
  3. Choose one or more of the following contact attributes to begin deduplicating by:
    • Email
    • Phone
    • External data reference
  4. If desired, select one or more of the additional attributes to deduplicate by. These are optional.
    • First name
    • Last name
  5. When finished, click Save.
Attention: These settings are not retroactive. Only contacts uploaded to the directory after these settings are saved will be deduplicated. If you need to deduplicate contacts that are already in your directory, see Consolidate Duplicates.

FAQs