Skip to main content
Loading...
  • Customer Experience
    Customer Experience
  • Employee Experience
    Employee Experience
  • Brand Experience
    Brand Experience
  • Product Experience
    Product Experience
  • Core XM
    Core XM
  • Design XM
    Design XM

Roles (EX)

What's on This Page:


Was this helpful?


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The feedback you submit here is used only to help improve this page.

That’s great! Thank you for your feedback!

Thank you for your feedback!


Qtip: This page describes functionality available to Engagement, Lifecycle, Ad Hoc Employee Research, and 360 projects, although Lifecycle, Ad Hoc Employee Research, and 360 do not have hierarchies. For more details on each, see Types of Employee Experience Projects.

About Roles

Roles are used to control access to the dashboards and org hierarchies. Roles are the best way to manage permissions for large groups of participants. Set up a role and assign multiple participants to it to save time by not assigning permissions one by one.

Qtip: Appearance of this section may differ in Ad Hoc Employee research projects and for all projects in brands without unique identifiers enabled. See Roles Section Differences for more details.

Creating a Role

  1. Navigate to the Roles section in the Participants tab and select Add new role.
    Add new role in the Roles section
  2. Give your role a name.
    Naming a newly created role

    Qtip: You can always later rename your role by clicking on the pencil icon to the right of the role name.
    Rename option to the right of the role name
  3. Select Create.

Role Permissions

Role permissions section is highlighted on the right side of the screen

There are various permissions that can be enabled or disabled for a role. These permissions are the exact same ones that can be set on an individual level. For further information and details on what each permission does, visit the Permissions section of the Participant Information Window support page.

You can also change participant permissions on an individual level by clicking on a participant’s name or email. This will then open the participant information window where you can make changes on an individual level.

Qtip: If a participant is given a permission on an individual level, that permission will be marked as User Defined and will not update based on any roles they are in.

Permissions Interactions Between Multiple Roles

  • If a participant is assigned to multiple roles, and both those roles restrict data by metadata, then the participant will be given the most lenient access. For example, if one role allows them to see the US office’s data, while the other role allows them to see the Australian office’s data, they will see both the US and Australian offices’ data.
    Qtip: However, if the participant is assigned to multiple roles, and one role restricts data, but another has View All Data set, the data will not be restricted. Qualtrics will apply the more liberal set of data restrictions.
  • If a participant is assigned to two roles that restrict data, one with restrictions based on metadata and one with restrictions based on org hierarchy, then the metadata restriction will be ignored and only the org hierarchy restriction will be observed.

Adding & Removing Participants

To add participants to a role, follow the steps below.

  1. Select Add / Export.
    Add / Export button to the far right of the role name with the drop down menu shown
  2. Choose to Add participants or Add participants using filters.
  3. If you chose Add participants, search for the individual using their name or email address and select the participant from the list. Note that you can select multiple people.Add participants was selected, so a window is shown searching for a specific participant
  4. If you chose Add participants using filters, you will need to set the conditions under which participants will be added to a role. Your conditions can be based off of metadata, email address, or the org hierarchy manager.
    Adding participants using filters; filtered for if Metadata Manager is TRUE

    Qtip: You can add multiple conditions by clicking the three dots on the right and selecting Insert condition below.Insert condition below option to the right of the condition
  5. Click Add.

To remove participants from a role, hover over the individual and select the trashcan icon on the right-hand side.

Trashcan icon to the right of a specific participant

Adding Delegates to Roles

If you have added delegates to your Engagement project, you can use roles to quickly assign your delegates’ permissions in bulk.

  1. Navigate to the Roles section.
    in the roles section, clicking add new role, then adding participants to the role using filters
  2. Create a new role, or select an existing one.
  3. Click Add / Export.
  4. Select Add participants using filters.
  5. Choose Org Hierarchy Delegate.
    creating a filter to add org hierarchy delegates to the role
  6. Select the hierarchy from your project that contains the delegates.
  7. Click Add. All delegates in the org hierarchy that was selected will be automatically added to the role.
  8. Click Add a dashboard and choose the dashboard that the delegates should have access to.
    in the roles section, clicking add a dashboard and selecting the dashboard to add
  9. Enable Restrict data.
    turning on the data restriction option and restricting data by delegated position
  10. Using the dropdown menus, select Org Hierarchy, then the org hierarchy of interest, and then All results below their delegated position. This will restrict data based on their delegate position in the hierarchy and not their manager or direct report position.

After adding delegates to a role and granting them access to your dashboard, delegates will now have access to the dashboard of interest based on the delegated position in the org hierarchy.

Role Options

Role options; rename, delete, and export

  1. Rename: Rename your role by clicking on the pencil icon to the right of the role name.
  2. Delete: Clicking on the trashcan icon next to the role name will delete the selected role and remove it from any participant that it was applied to.
  3. Export participants: This will export all of the participants in the selected role to a CSV file. The export will contain each participant’s name and email.

Searching a Role

Search bar shown at the top of the role

If your role contains many participants, you can use the Search bar above a role to search for a participant within the role. You will only be able to search by the participant’s name or email.

Roles Section Differences

Your Roles section may differ in appearance from what is described on our support pages for two reasons:

  1. Unique identifiers are not enabled in your brand, so your Lifecycle and Engagement projects don’t match the screenshots on this page.
  2. You have unique identifiers, but are customizing an Ad Hoc Employee Research project.

The functionality of the Roles section is exactly the same in the updated interface, but there are a few features that have been moved around. This section will go over key differences so that they’re easier to identify.

Role Options

When you’ve selected a role, you can click Options to export participants in the role or to delete the role altogether.

Options button inside a role

Renaming a Role

Click directly on a role’s name to rename it.

Renaming a role

Adding Participants

You can opt to add individual participants or to add them as a group (using metadata filters). These options can be found in the left of the window that opens after you click Add Participants.

Add participants button, has no dropdown like the new one

New window with options on the left

Delete Users from a Role

Hover over a participant and click the X to remove them from a role. The X does not appear until you hover.

Deleting a user from a role