Loading...
  • Customer Experience
    Customer Experience
  • Employee Experience
    Employee Experience
  • Brand Experience
    Brand Experience
  • Product Experience
    Product Experience
  • Core XM
    Core XM
  • Design XM
    Design XM

Directory Options

What's on This Page:


Was this helpful?


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The feedback you submit here is used only to help improve this page.

That’s great! Thank you for your feedback!

Thank you for your feedback!


Qtip: XM Directory is an improvement upon the old Target Audience, with user interface (UI) changes made to integrate more seamlessly with the XM platform. If you do not have XM Directory and would like to purchase access, contact your Account Executive.

About Directory Options

Directory options is a dropdown menu that can be found in the upper-right corner of the Directory Contacts tab. It contains many important means of managing your directory contacts, such as the ability to export them, to set up automatic rules for list enrollment, consolidate duplicates, and manage embedded data.

Export Contacts

You can export all of your directory’s contacts in a file format of your choosing.

Qtip: It doesn’t matter which contacts are selected. All contacts will be included in the export unless you use the gear to the right. Filters and searches also do not narrow down the contacts included in the export. Remember you can also export a mailing list instead of the entire directory.
  1. Click Directory options.
    Selecting export all contacts from the directory options
  2. Click Export All Contacts.
  3. Select a File Format. You can select either CSV or TSV.
    The Export contacts window
  4. Choose whether to Export Contact Stats. This is information about contact frequency, response rate, etc.
  5. Choose whether to Export Embedded DataYes exports all embedded data, No exports none, and Specify Embedded Data allows you to choose which fields to export.
  6. Click Export contacts.

Specify Embedded Data

To specify embedded data, simply select fields from the menu on the right. Selected fields are in blue along the bottom of the menu.

Specify Embedded Data is selected and a box of selectable fields appears to the right

To remove fields, click the X next to their name.

Automatic List Enrollment

Attention: If you have both CX & EX projects hosted in the same brand, we do not advise using this feature.

Say you have an ongoing survey that you run for several different cities. You get a lot of people requesting to be added to these surveys and wish you could upload them all at once to your directory instead of in separate contact lists.

Automatic List Enrollment allows you to automatically sort new contacts into certain lists based on various information about them. This feature only affects newly created contacts in your directory. Automatic List Enrollment rules will not retroactively apply to existing contacts in your directory.

Setting Rules

  1. Click Directory options.
    Selecting automatic list enrollment form the directory options dropdown
  2. Select Automatic List Enrollment.
  3. Click Create New Rule. Create New Rule button in the center of the window
  4. Select the mailing list you want to add the contact to, OR click Create New List to create a new list. Creating a rule
  5. Select the type of information you want to filter by.
  6. Finish the “statement” based on the specifics of that information.
    Example: Here, we only want people whose email domains contain “qualtrics” to be included in our Pilot Test mailing list.
  7. Click Create to finish.

Setting Conditions

Conditions in automatic list enrollment are similar to conditions in directory filters. The only difference is that the only fields you can base automatic list enrollment on are contact info and embedded data.

Managing Rules

After you have created rules, you will see them whenever you select Automatic List Enrollment from the directory options.

List of rules on the Automatic List enrollment window

Click on a rule to modify it. You can also click Delete Rule on the bottom-right to delete it forever.

Delete Rule button on bottom-right

Consolidate Duplicates

At times, you may upload multiple copies of the same contact to your directory without knowing. You can combine these duplicates into one contact by using Consolidate Duplicates in the directory options.

Qtip: You can use the directory options to consolidate duplicates after the contacts are uploaded. However, if you want duplicates to be consolidated as they’re uploaded so that you don’t have to go back and fix them later, check out Consolidating Your Duplicate Contacts.
  1. Click Directory options.
    clicking consolidate duplicates in directory options
  2. Select Consolidate duplicates.
  3. Select fields along the left that you want to search for duplicates of. You may select up to two duplicate fields.
    selecting contact fields to deduplicate by

    Example: If we select first and last name, contacts with the same first name won’t be considered duplicates. Only if both names match will they be considered duplicates of each other.
  4. Click Find duplicates.
    Qtip: Click Consolidate your contacts in Directory Settings in the bottom left to be brought to your directory’s automatic deduplication settings.
  5. Next to a group of duplicates, click Consolidate.
    clicking consolidate next to an identified duplicate contact

    Qtip: You can only consolidate 1,000,000 sets of duplicates at a time. In the above image, 2 sets of duplicates were present. If your directory has more than 1,000,000 sets of duplicates, you will need to consolidate duplicates multiple times.
  6. The differences between the duplicates will be listed. Select the preferred version of each differing field.
    choosing what duplicate value to keep
  7. Click Consolidate duplicates.
    Qtip: For all contacts, you can specify the values for contact information (name, email, phone, and language). For embedded data, it depends on the contacts that are being consolidated. If each duplicate contact has different values for an embedded data field, then you will be given the option to choose which embedded data value to keep. If one contact has a value for an embedded data field but the other contact does not have a value for that field, then whichever version of the contact that is selected will determine which non-duplicated field is kept.

Consolidating Additional Duplicates

If you come back to the Consolidate Duplicates window later, you may end up seeing your previous duplication search results.

Start New Search button on bottom-left of Consolidate Duplicates window

Just click Start New Search on the bottom-left to consolidate more duplicates.

Manage Embedded Data

Manage Embedded Data under Directory options allows you to edit the embedded data fields themselves, not just the values. From this window, you can delete embedded data, rename it, or merge multiple fields.

Warning: Edits made on this window affect all the embedded data in the directory, not just for individual contacts.

Manage Embedded Data window. 1 is a highlighted field name. 2 and 3 are delete and merge fields on the upper-right. 4 is the numbered field next to the field name. missing embedded data is on the bottom-left in blue text

  1. Renaming Fields: Click into or highlight a field to change its name. Click Save when you’re done.
  2. Deleting Fields: Select the fields you wish to delete with the checkboxes along the left, then click Delete on the upper-right.
  3. Merging Fields: Select multiple fields along the left to merge into a single embedded data field. Then click Merge Fields on the upper-right, select the name you want the merged fields to have, and click Merge Fields. If there are multiple values, the newest one added will become the value of the merged field.
    Merge fields button has a dropdown menu
  4. Contacts that have it: The number of contacts that an embedded data field has assigned to it.

Directory Settings

The Directory settings option will redirect you to the Directory Settings tab. See the following pages for more on the options you can find there:

FAQs