Insight Platform - Creating and Managing Users | Qualtrics

Creating and Managing Users

Creating and Managing Users

As an administrator, you are able to create new user accounts for your license. You can also monitor, access, and edit these accounts. This page will discuss the options available for creating and managing user accounts within your license.

Creating New User Accounts

  1. Navigate to the Administration section and click Users.image13
  2. Click Create a New User.image03
  3. Enter the username, name, email, and password.image14
  4. If desired, set a User Type and/or Division.image17
  5. Click the checkboxes to customize the account permissions for the user.image12
    Qtip: Clicking the checkbox under Enabled will enable the permission for the user, whereas clicking the checkbox under Disabled will disable the permission. We recommend creating a new User Type if you find yourself editing many accounts to have the same customized permissions.
  6. Click Save.
    image15

Creating new user accounts manually may not be practical in larger licenses. If your organization has a custom branded login page, the self-enrollment feature can be enabled. If enabled, members of your organization will be able to go to your branded login page and create their own accounts.

Qtip: To enable self-enrollment for your branded login page, contact our support team using the Contact Us link at the top right of this page. For more information on creating a branded login page, contact your Qualtrics Account Executive.

Managing Existing User Accounts

As administrator, you can manage an existing user’s account. Managing user accounts can include activating surveys, changing ownership of projects, updating a user’s contact information, and modifying a user’s permissions.

To manage an existing user account

  1. Navigate to the Administration section and click Users.image13
  2. Search for the existing user by using any of the search criteria and filters (Username, First Name, Last Name, etc., as well as Division, User Type, and Account Status).image09
  3. Click the username of the desired user account.image11
  4. Edit the user’s account.2015-08-06_15-26-08
  5. Click Save.image04

User Account Options

There are three areas where you can view and make changes to a user’s account.

  • View Account Use Info: See how many responses the account has collected and which projects the account owns. You can also transfer the ownership of any of the projects to another user account, as well as activate/deactivate, undelete, and permanently delete any of the projects.image00
  • Update basic account information: Edit the username, name, and email associated with the account. You can also send a Password Reset email, set a Division or User Type, disable or enable their account, or add an expiration date to the account.image01
  • Modify access permissions: Enable or disable any feature or permission in Qualtrics for a user.image02

Changing Project Ownership

  1. Navigate to the Administration section and click Users.image13
  2. Search for the existing user by using any of the search criteria and filters (Username, First Name, Last Name, etc., as well as Division, User Type, and Account Status).image09
  3. Click the username of the desired user account.image11
  4. Click View Account Use Info.2015-08-06_15-44-30
  5. Click Change Owner next to the desired project.image10
  6. Select the User or Group you would like to transfer the project ownership to.image19
  7. Click Transfer.image22

Accessing User Accounts

Qtip: All Brand Administrators are able to log in to users’ accounts by default. For a Division Administrator to access users’ accounts, the Brand Administrator must enable that permission in the Division Settings.
  1. Navigate to the Administration section and click Users.image21
  2. Search for the existing user by using any of the search criteria and filters (Username, First Name, Last Name, etc., as well as Division, User Type, and Account Status).image08
  3. For the user account you would like to access click Login, located to the right under the Actions column.image05

Deleting User Accounts

Attention: Deleting an account will deactivate all surveys within the account and all content contained therein. Any projects shared from that account to others will be removed as well.
  1. Navigate to the Administration section and click Users.image13
  2. Search for the existing user by using any of the search criteria and filters (Username, First Name, Last Name, etc., as well as Division, User Type, and Account Status).image08
  3. For the user account you would like to remove click Delete User, located to the right under Actions.image16
  4. Follow the prompts for confirming your action, then click Delete again.image07