Loading...
  • Customer Experience
    Customer Experience
  • Employee Experience
    Employee Experience
  • Brand Experience
    Brand Experience
  • Product Experience
    Product Experience
  • Core XM
    Core XM

User Groups

What's on This Page:


Was this helpful?


The feedback you submit here is used only to help improve this page.

That’s great! Thank you for your feedback!

Thank you for your feedback!


About User Groups

As a Brand Administrator, you can use Groups to allow two or more users to share projects, graphics, files, and messages in Libraries. Users within Groups can also share contact lists in their Contacts page. Groups can include everyone in your organization, everyone in a specific Division, or only specific users that you manually select.

Groups administration can only be accessed by Brand and Division Administrators in the Admin page.

Qtip: Once you create a group, a group library will automatically be created. If you’ve been newly added to a group, you may need to log out and back in to your account before you see the group library.

Creating New Groups

  1. Navigate to the Admin page.
    Create a New Group button in top-right corner of Groups tab in the Admin page
  2. Select Groups.
  3. Click Create a New Group.
  4. Enter the Group Name.
    Create a New Group menu with various settings and the save button
  5. Set who the Group is available to.
    Qtip: For this brand and For this division mean that all users in your organization or specified Division, respectively, will automatically be able to access the Group content. No means an administrator will need to manually add specific individuals to the group.
  6. If you selected For this division, choose the Division.
  7. Select the Group Type.
    Qtip: The Group Type determines what Group members are allowed to do with content owned by the Group. In most cases, you can just use the default Group Type. If you’d like to restrict the group’s permissions, you can create a new Group Type.
  8. Click Save.

Manually Adding Users to a Group

If you haven’t made your Group available to all users in your brand or a specific Division, you will need to add users manually.

Qtip: If you have made your Group brand- or Division-wide but want specific users to have different permissions from general Group members, you’ll need to add them manually as well. For information on setting different permissions for specific users, view Giving a User Additional Group Permissions below.

To add users to a Group

  1. Navigate to the Admin page.
    The Add button in the Actions column of the Groups tab in the Admin page
  2. Select Groups.
  3. To the right of the Group name, click Add.
  4. Search for the user you would like to add, and then select the applicable user.
    First and Last Name search boxes in the Add User to Group menu

    Qtip: You can select multiple users by holding Ctrl or Cmd when you click. To select two users and everyone in between, hold Shift and click the first and last user.
  5. Click Add.

Giving a User Additional Group Permissions

If you want to give a user special access to add and modify Group content beyond that given to other Group members, you can edit the user’s Group access permissions.

Example: You can allow only the head researcher to add surveys to the Group Library, whereas everyone else can just use surveys already there.

To modify a Group member’s permissions

  1. Add the user to the Group. This is necessary even if the Group is available to all users.
  2. Click on the name of the Group.
    Group name in the lefthand Name column in the Groups tab
  3. Click Edit to the right of the user’s name.
    Edit option in the Actions column next the individual user name
  4. Click the checkboxes to set the permissions that will apply to this user.
    Employee Insights tab in Edit Rights Within Group menu

    Qtip: When a user is added manually to a Group, the permissions selected will determine what the user is allowed to do with content owned by the Group. These permissions will override the Group Type permissions for that user.
  5. Click Save.

Group Types

Group Types, similar to User Types, are sets of permissions that determine what a user is allowed to do with content owned by a Group. The Group Type permissions will apply to all Group members, unless otherwise specified for an individual member.

To create a new Group Type

  1. Navigate to the Admin page.
    Create a New Group Type in the top-right corner of the Group Types tab in the Admin page
  2. Select Group Types.
  3. Click Create a New Group Type.
  4. Name the Group Type and click the checkboxes to enable/disable permissions as desired.
    Text box to name Group Type and Permissions checkboxes
  5. Click Save.

Once saved, your Group Type will now be in your list of available Group Types. This list also includes all default Group Types.

To apply a Group Type

  1. Navigate to the Admin page.
    Image showing how to navigate to the groups tab
  2. Select Groups.
  3. Click the name of the Group.
  4. Select the Group Type from the dropdown menu.
    Dropdown list for Group Type in the Edit Group menu
  5. Click Save.

Deleting Groups or Group Types

To delete a Group or Group Type, click Delete in the Actions column for the specific one you would like removed.

Option to Delete a Group Type in the righthand column called Actions

Using User Groups

To learn how to share a survey with a group, follow the steps on the Sharing a Project support page.

You can also copy surveys, graphics, files, and messages to group libraries. You can find these instructions in the Survey Library, Graphics Library, Files Library, and Messages Library pages.

To find instructions on how to share a contact list with a group, navigate to the Contact List Sharing section of our Contact List Overview page.

Creating an Organization Wide Library

It’s often useful to create an organization wide library for all of your Qualtrics users to share. Here, you can store assets for your users to use when building surveys. When setting up your organization wide library, you can limit which users can upload new content, while still giving all users access to the content in the library.

Qtip: To create an organization wide library, you must be a Brand Administrator.
  1. Navigate to the Admin tab.
    the group types tab. the create a new group type button is on the right side
  2. Go to Group Types.
  3. Click Create a New Group Type.
  4. Give your group type a name.
    giving the group type a name
  5. In the Library Permissions section of the General tab, enable all permissions that begin with “Use Library” and disable all permissions that begin with “Manage Library”.
    setting up the permissions for the group type. the "use library" permissions are enabled while the "manage library" permissions are disabled.
  6. Click Save.
  7. Navigate to the Groups tab.
    the groups tab. the create a new group button is on the right side
  8. Click Create a New Group.
  9. Give your group a name. This is the name that your users will see when selecting the group library.
    creating a new group by giving the group a name, choosing which users have access, and choosing a group type
  10. Select For this brand for the Available to All Users field.
  11. Select the Group Type you created earlier.
  12. Click Save.
  13. To add users to manage the library content (i.e. users who can add and remove group content), go to your newly created group and click Add.
    the add button for adding users to a group
  14. Search for users by first name or last name.
    adding a user to the group
  15. Select the user(s) you want to manage group content.
  16. Click Add.
  17. Click your group name.
    the groups tab with our newly created group visible
  18. Click Edit next to one of the users in your group.
    the edit button for editing the permissions of a user within a group
  19. In the Library Permissions section of the General tab, enable the “Manage Library” permissions. These permissions allow the user to upload and remove content from the library.
    the manage library permissions are enabled
  20. Click Save.
  21. Repeat steps 18 through 20 for all users in the group.
  22. When finished, click Save.
    the save button when editing a group

With the above setup, the group library is available to everyone in your organization, but only a limited set of users can actually upload content to the library. However, any user in your license can make use of the content uploaded to the library.

FAQs