Survey Platform - Sharing a Project | Qualtrics

Sharing a Project

Introduction

Sometimes you want to share your project with someone, but not offer them full functionality and options. In these instances, you can use our sharing feature. For example, if you have translators working on your project, you can share the project with their Qualtrics account, giving them permission to edit the survey but not to view the results.

Qtip: If you would like to transfer a copy of a survey to another Qualtrics account, see our Importing and Exporting Surveys page for more information.

Sharing Inside Your Organization

  1. On the My Projects page, click the dropdown to the right of the project you want to share to access the Project Actions.2015-04-23_16-50-28
    Qtip: Is your Share Project button grayed out? Check out the Common Questions section at the bottom of this page to learn why.
  2. Choose Share Project.
    Share_Project_new
  3. Click User and Group Address Book.
    image07
  4. Select the user or user group you want to share with from the list and click Add Selected. Use the search bar in the top right corner of the window to quickly locate your user or user group.
    image02

    Qtip: Don’t see the person you are looking for? Make sure they have a Qualtrics account within your same license. If their account is not in the same license as you (they may be in a different department or have a trial account), then their account won’t appear in your list.
  5. Select the checkboxes for the permissions you want to grant each person or group you’ve added (click Details to further customize the Edit and View Results permissions).
    image01
  6. Click Save.
    image06

Once you’ve shared your project, your associates will be able to see your project listed in their Shared with me folder the next time they log in. To access this folder, go to the My Projects page, click on Folders, and select Shared with me. Your associates will also receive an email notification letting them know a project has been shared with them.
2015-04-23_17-16-05

Sharing with Groups

A group is a set of Qualtrics users with access to a shared library of surveys, contacts, and other project data. If you want to create a group, contact the Qualtrics Administrator within your organization.

Rather than sharing a project with individual user accounts, you can share a project with a group to give everyone in that group access to your project at the same time.

To share with a group

  1. On the My Projects page, click the Project Options dropdown next to the project you want to share.
    2015-04-23_16-50-28
  2. Choose Share Project.
    image00
  3. Click User and Group Address Book.
    image07
  4. From the list, select the user group you want to share with and click Add Selected.
    image08

    Qtip: You will only see a group listed if you are already a member of that group.
  5. Next to the group you’ve added, select the checkboxes for the permissions you want to grant users within that group (click Details to further customize the Edit and View Results permissions).
    image01
  6. Click Save.
    image06

Sharing Outside Your Organization and with New Users

Sharing with users outside of your organization works very similarly to sharing within your organization. Rather than using the Address Book though, you’ll simply enter the email address associated with the user’s account into the text box and click the Add button.

image03

The user will receive a notification email letting them know a project has been shared, and the next time the user signs into their account, they’ll see the project in their Shared with me folder. If the user has more than one account associated with their email address, the project will be shared to the first account they sign into.

Qtip: If the project ends up being shared with the wrong account, don’t worry! Just open the sharing menu again and delete and re-share the project with them.

If your associate doesn’t have a Qualtrics account, you can still enter their email address into the text box. They’ll be sent an email notification letting them know you’re trying to share and that they need to make an account. If they use the same email address to make their account, they’ll see your project waiting for them in it.

Common Questions

Below are some common questions and answers about sharing projects.

The Share Project option is grayed out

There are two reasons why sharing may not be available:

  • The project belongs to someone else. Only the owner of a project (the one who created the project in their account) can share the project with another user.
  • Sharing is not available for your account. Check with your Qualtrics Administrator to see if the sharing permission is enabled for your account.

I don’t see a project that has been shared with me

There are three reasons why a shared project may not appear in your account:

  • The project has been shared with the incorrect account. Check to see if you have another Qualtrics account containing the project.
  • The My Projects page is showing only a specific folder of surveys. The shared project may be in a different folder than the one you are currently viewing. Be sure to check in your Shared with me folder.
  • The project was shared with you when you were logged into your account. Update your account by opening your account options in the top right of your account and selecting Refresh Account.

I’m missing some editing options on the shared project

There are two reasons why you may not have full access to a shared project:

  • The project owner did not give you full access to the project. Check with the project owner to make sure they gave you the access they intended, as described in the Sharing Inside Your Organization section.
  • The project owner has a limited Qualtrics account. The project owner won’t be able to give you permission to make edits that they themselves aren’t allowed to make.

I get a “You do not have permission” error message when I click the Add button

Your organization may have disabled permissions for sharing inside or outside of your organization. Check with your Qualtrics Administrator to see if the Collaborate Inside Organization and/or Collaborate Outside Organization permissions have been disabled on your account.

I can’t see the User and Group Address Book

This may mean that you do not have permission to view the Address Book. Check with your Qualtrics Administrator to see if the permission has been disabled.