Survey Platform - Survey Termination | Qualtrics

Survey Termination

Introduction

When your respondents finish taking your survey, you may need to redirect them to another web page, show them a custom thank you message, or even anonymize their response. You can use the Survey Termination settings to adjust what will happen when your respondents finish the survey.

To access your Survey Termination settings, click Survey Options in the Survey module.

image04

Scrolling down slightly, You will see the following Survey Termination settings listed:

image10

Qtip: The Survey Termination settings available in Survey Options are the default settings for all respondents. To customize the ending experience for just a subset of respondents, you can add an End of Survey element to your Survey Flow.

Changing the End of Survey Message

By default, each respondent sees the following message upon successful survey completion: “We thank you for your time spent taking this survey. Your response has been recorded.” However, you can create a custom message to tailor the survey completion experience to your respondents.

To change the End of Survey message

  1. Open Survey Options in the Survey module.image04
  2. Select Custom end of survey message and click Load a Saved Message.image00
  3. Select the Library you would like the messages to be saved in and click New Message.image13
    Qtip: Alternatively, if you have messages that you have saved previously, select an existing message for use.
  4. Enter a Description for your message.image12
  5. Type your message as you would like it to appear to your respondents.image09
  6. Click Save.image15
Qtip: End of Survey messages can also be created and edited in the Messages Library.

Redirecting to a Single Response Report

Rather than showing participants a message, you can automatically redirect them to a summary of their responses. This response report can be downloaded by the respondent as a PDF.

To redirect respondents to their response report

  1. Open Survey Options in the Survey module.image04
  2. Select Redirect to a single response report.image05
Qtip: You can show a summary of their responses before they submit the survey by enabling Show Response Summary before completing the survey with the End of Survey element.

Redirecting Respondents to a URL

In some cases, you may want to ensure respondents make it back to your website or another web page at the end of the survey, rather than simply showing them a message. You can use the Redirect to a URL option to accomplish this. As soon as a respondent clicks the submit button in the survey, they’ll automatically be redirected to your chosen site.

Qtip: Only one redirect can be chosen at the same time. You cannot redirect to a URL and then redirect your respondent to a single response report or scoring summary.

To redirect respondents to a URL

  1. Open Survey Options in the Survey module.image04
  2. Select Redirect to a URL.image16
  3. Enter the URL link.image06

Sending a Thank You Email

If you distribute your survey using the Qualtrics Mailer, you can send a thank you email when respondents have completed your survey. This thank you will send to the email address listed in the contact list for the respondent.

Qtip: You can send a thank you email to all of your respondents that completed the survey through the Distributions module as well.

To send a thank you email

  1. Open Survey Options in the Survey module.image04
  2. Select the Send additional thank you email from a library checkbox.image11
  3. Click Load a Saved Message.image03
  4. Select the Library you would like the messages to be saved in and click New Message.image07
    Qtip: Alternatively, select an existing message for use.
  5. Enter a Description for your message.image08
  6. Type your message as you would like it to appear for your respondents.image14
  7. Click Save.image02
Qtip: Even if you didn’t send your survey using the Qualtrics Mailer, you may still be able to send follow up emails. You can accomplish this by collecting the participants’ email in the survey and then using an Email Trigger.

Anonymizing Responses

Anonymizing your responses is an effective way to permanently scrub a response of identifying information before saving it in the data.

When responses are gathered with the Anonymous Link, enabling this setting will remove the respondents’ IP address and location data from your results. When responses are gathered with the Individual Link, enabling this setting will remove the IP address and location data and disconnect the response from the contact who provided it. In this way, you can know which contacts have responded (through your distribution history and contact history), but not which response belongs to which contact.

To anonymize responses

Warning: Once a response has been anonymized, the scrubbed information can’t be restored.
  1. Open Survey Options in the Survey module.image04
  2. Select the Anonymize Response checkbox.image01