Loading...
  • Customer Experience
    Customer Experience
  • Employee Experience
    Employee Experience
  • Brand Experience
    Brand Experience
  • Product Experience
    Product Experience
  • Core XM
    Core XM

Roles (EX)

What's on This Page:


Was this helpful?


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The feedback you submit here is used only to help improve this page.

That’s great! Thank you for your feedback!

Thank you for your feedback!


Qtip: This page describes functionality available to Engagement, Lifecycle, and Ad Hoc Employee Research projects, although Lifecycle and Ad Hoc Employee Research do not have hierarchies. For more details on each, see Types of Employee Experience Projects.

About Roles

Roles are used to control access to the dashboards and org hierarchies. Roles are the best way to manage permissions for large groups of participants. Set up a role and assign multiple participants to it to save time by not assigning permissions one by one.

Creating a Role

  1. Navigate to the Roles section in the Participants tab and select Create Role.
    Create Role button on Roles section of Participants tab
  2. Give your role a name.
    Create Role window asks you to name the role

    Qtip: You can always later rename your role by clicking on its name above the Search bar.
    Center of Roles page gives the role's name and lists participants in the role
  3. Select Create Role again.

Role Permissions

Right side of Roles page displays the selected role's permissions

There are various permissions that can be enabled or disabled for a role. These permissions are the exact same ones that can be set on an individual level. For further information and details on what each permission does, visit the Permissions section of the Participant Information Window support page.

You can also change participant permissions on an individual level by clicking on a participant’s name or email. This will then open the participant information window where you can make changes on an individual level.

Qtip: If a participant is given a permission on an individual level, that permission will be marked as User Defined and will not update based on any roles they are in.

Permissions Interactions Between Multiple Roles

  • If a participant is assigned to multiple roles, and both those roles restrict data by metadata, then the participant will be given the most lenient access. For example, if one role allows them to see the US office’s data, while the other role allows them to see the Australian office’s data, they will see both the US and Australian offices’ data.
    Qtip: However, if the participant is assigned to multiple roles, and one role restricts data, but another has View All Data set, the data will not be restricted. Qualtrics will apply the more liberal set of data restrictions.
  • If a participant is assigned to two roles that restrict data, one with restrictions based on metadata and one with restrictions based on org hierarchy, then the metadata restriction will be ignored and only the org hierarchy restriction will be observed.

Adding & Removing Participants

To add participants to a role, follow the steps below.

  1. Select Add Participants.
    Add Participants button is located in the the center section of the page
  2. Choose to Add Individuals or Add a Group.
    Add Participants window allows you to Add Individuals or Add a Group, selectable along the left
  3. If you chose Add Individuals, search for the individual using their name or email address and select the participant from the list. Note that you can select multiple people.
  4. If you chose Add a Group, you will need to set the conditions under which participants will be added to a role. Your conditions can be based off of metadata, email address, or the org hierarchy manager.
    In Add a Group, Metadata Manager is set to Yes

    Qtip: You can add multiple conditions by using the plus (+) and minus () signs on the right.
  5. Select Add Participants again.

To remove participants from a role, hover over the individual and select the X on the right-hand side.

X to the right of a role member

Role Options

Options button opens to reveal Export Participants and Delete Role

  1. Export Participants: This will export all of the participants in the selected role to a CSV file. The export will contain each participant’s name and email.
  2. Delete Role: This will delete the selected role and remove it from any participant that it was applied to.

Searching a Role

Search bar along top of the center section

If your role contains many participants, you can use the Search bar above a role to search for a participant within the role. You will only be able to search by the participant’s name or email.