About Managing Multiple Directory Contacts
When you are inside the Directory Contacts tab, you can edit multiple contacts at a time by selecting the checkbox to their left.
Contacts Information Menu
When you select multiple directory contacts, a menu opens to the right where you can edit all their values en masse.
Click any of the headers in the menu to expand and collapse the information displayed.
Contact Info, Demographics, & Embedded Data
The “Contact info” section contains editable contact information. The “Demographics” section contains common demographic fields you may want to save to your contacts (which can be manually edited in the directory, or collected from certified questions). The “Embedded data” section displays the embedded data assigned to the contacts.
Because several contacts are selected and their information might vary, specific values for each of these fields are not displayed. Instead, the number of contacts given a value for this field are listed.
You can edit these values for all your selected contacts by clicking the number of values, e.g., 3 values, as shown in the screenshot above. Once you do so, the Contact Details window will open.
- Select a contact field or embedded data to edit by using the dropdown.
- Click into any value to change it.
- Save your changes by clicking Done.
Contacts actions can be accessed by clicking the gear next to the number of selected contacts in the right-hand menu.
You can export all the contacts you’ve selected in a CSV or TSV file, and specify which embedded data you’d like to include. The same options are available whether you’re exporting only selected contacts or all contacts in the directory, so see Exporting Contacts for more details.
Adding & Removing Contacts from a List
The process of adding and removing multiple contacts from mailing lists is exactly the same as adding and removing a single contact. See the Adding and Removing a Contact from a List page for instructions.
Edit Embedded Data
You can view all the embedded data for a contact and edit the values. This brings you to the same window as clicking values in the contact information menu.
Opt-out & Opt-in
Opting a contact out of the entire directory will prevent them from receiving any mailing from any list they are a part of. They also will not be able to receive emails sent to just them. You can reverse this at any time by opting them back in.
Opting multiple contacts in and out of the directory is the same as opting a single contact in and out of the directory.
Deleting multiple contacts from the directory is the same as deleting a single contact from the directory.
Opting-Out Directory Contacts in Bulk
As noted above, you can opt-out contacts by selecting the contacts in your directory and using the contacts actions dropdown to change their opt-out status. However, if you need to update many opt-out statuses at once, you can accomplish this by importing a file to update your contacts.
- Prepare a CSV file with the contact’s information. For help creating this file, see Importing Updates to an Existing List.
- Add a column with Unsubscribed as the header.
- For all contacts you want to opt-out, put a 1 for their value.
Qtip: If you want the contact to remain opted-in, put a 0.
- Save your file as a CSV with UTF-8 encoding.
- Upload the file into your directory.