Collaboration

Introduction

The collaborate feature is useful when you want to allow someone access to your survey but still want to limit what they can do. For example, if you have translators working on your survey, you can collaborate a survey with them and only give them permission to edit the survey, while limiting their permission to view results. You can find the option to collaborate in the Tasks menu of the My Surveys page. On this page you will learn how to collaborate on your survey with others and also find answers to common questions about collaboration.

Collaborating Within Your Organization

Use these instructions when the user you want to collaborate with has an account within your license.
    1. Next to any survey, click Collaborate.
      Qtip: Don’t see the collaboration icon next to a survey? See our troubleshooting guide below to learn where it is.
    2. Click User and Group Address Book.
    3. From the list, select the user or user group you want to collaborate with and click Add Selected.
      Qtip: Don’t see the person you are looking for? Make sure they have a Qualtrics account within your license. To send them an invitation to create an account, use the steps described below for collaborating with new users.
    4. Next to each person or group you’ve added, indicate what level of access they will have for this survey.You can give permission to Edit the survey, View Results, Activate/Deactivate the survey, Copy the survey, and Distribute the survey. You can further customize Edit and View Results permissions by clicking Details.
    5. Click Save.
The next time the user refreshes their account (or logs in again), they will see your survey listed on their My Surveys page.
Qtip: If the collaborated survey does not show up on the My Surveys page upon login, try refreshing the account by clicking on the black box in the top right of the account, and selecting Refresh Account.

Collaborating Outside of Your Organization and With New Users

If the users you want to collaborate with are not under the same license as you or if they don’t have an account, you can still send them an email invitation to collaborate on your survey.

To send a collaboration invitation:

  1. Click Collaborate.
  2. Enter the email address of the person you want to share with.
  3. Click Add.
  4. Enter in a personalized message and click OK.
  5. Next to each person or group you’ve added, indicate what level of access they will have for this survey.You can give permission to Edit the survey, View Results, Activate/Deactivate the survey, Copy the survey, and Distribute the survey. You can further customize Edit and View Results permissions by clicking Details.
  6. Click Save.
This will send an email to the person you want to collaborate with. The collaboratee must follow the instructions in the email in order to access the collaborated survey.

Collaborating With Groups

A group is a set of Qualtrics users with access to a shared library of surveys, panels, and other survey data. If you want to create a group, contact the Qualtrics administrator within your organization. Rather than collaborating with individual user accounts, you can collaborate with a group to give everyone in that group access to your survey.

To collaborate with a group:

    1. Click Collaborate.
    2. Click User and Group Address Book.
    3. Select the group that you want to collaborate with, and click Add Selected.Qtip: You will only see a group listed if you are already a member of that group.
    4. Next to the group you’ve added, indicate what level of access group members will have for this survey.You can give permission to Edit the survey, View Results, Activate/Deactivate the survey, Copy the survey, and Distribute the survey. You can further customize Edit and View Results permissions by clicking Details.
    5. Click Save.

Accepting Shared Surveys

If a survey has been shared with you, either by email invitation or with the address book, all you need to do to see that shared survey is refresh your account. To refresh your account:
  1. Click the black account settings button at the top right of your account.Coming Soon 
  2. Select Refresh Account.Coming Soon
Qtip: If a survey is collaborated with someone who does not have a Qualtrics account, the collaboration will still work. The individual just needs to create a Qualtrics account using the same email address that was used for collaboration. The collaborated survey will show up as soon as they login.

Troubleshooting Collaboration

Below you will find some common questions asked about collaboration and how you can resolve them.

I don’t see the option to collaborate for my survey.

There are three reasons why collaboration may not be available:
  • The survey belongs to someone else. Only the owner of a survey can share the survey with another user.
  • Collaboration is not available for your account. Check with your Qualtrics administrator to see if collaboration is turned on for your account.
  • The Collaborate icon has been hidden. Follow the steps below to show the Collaborate icon again.
      1. Go to the My Surveys tab.
      2. Click Show More Data.
      3. Go to Task Icons.
      4. Make sure Collaborate has a check mark next to it.

I don’t see a survey that has been collaborated with me.

There are two reasons why a collaborated survey may not show up in your account:
  • The survey has been collaborated with the incorrect account. If you have multiple accounts, login to them and look for the collaborated survey. If the survey is collaborated incorrectly, have the collaborator redo the collaboration to the correct account.
    Qtip: If you have more than one Qualtrics account associated with the same email address, and a survey is shared with your email address, the survey will appear in the next account that you log into. If you accidentally get a survey shared to the wrong account due to this. Have the collaborator remove and re-do the collaboration. You can then sign into the appropriate account.
  • The My Surveys page is showing just a specific folder of surveys.The collaborated survey may be in a different folder than the one you are currently viewing. If you click on the name of the current folder, you can choose a new folder to view.

    I’m missing some editing options on the collaborated survey.

    There are two reasons why you may not have full access to a collaborated survey:
    • The survey owner did not give you full access to the survey. Have the owner check to make sure they gave you the access they intended, as described in the Collaborating Within Your Organization tutorial.
    • The survey owner has a limited Qualtrics account. The survey owner won’t be able to give you permission to make edits that they themselves aren’t allowed to make.

    I can’t see the User and Group Address Book.

    This may mean that you do not have permission to view the address book. Check with your Qualtrics administrator to see if the permission has been disabled.
Google+